reckless driving

What Are Move Over Laws?

We’ve all heard the screech of sirens while driving. Whether it’s an ambulance, fire truck, or police car, the noise certainly gets our attention. But according to the Department of Transportation, over 70% of Americans are unaware of the laws regarding first responders on the roadway called move over laws.

Texas Move Over Laws

“Move over” laws dictate when and how a vehicle must accommodate for EMS, police, and fire trucks. While you might be part of the 30% that are familiar with these laws, you might not know all of the particular details.

Requirements of the Texas “Move Over” Law:

  • Emergency vehicles include police, fire, and EMS vehicles.
  • Drivers nearing stopped emergency vehicles with lights activated must change lanes and/or slow down.
  • Drivers must vacate the lane closest to the emergency vehicle if the road has multiple lanes heading in the same direction.
  • If drivers cannot change lanes, they must slow down to 20 miles per hour below the speed limit.
  • As of 2011, tow trucks displaying emergency lights are included as emergency vehicles.

Last year, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) issued more than 17,000 warnings and citations for motorists who failed to adhere to the Texas “move over” laws. While this might seem excessive, it’s for good reason. Over 200 police officers in the past fifteen years have been killed after being struck by vehicles on America’s highways.

Texas enacted its “move over” laws in 2003 in response to a national educational campaign to educate drivers. While these laws can vary from state to state, the best practice when you are driving and you see or hear an emergency vehicle is to move over and slow down. Failing to do so could cost you up to a $200.00 fine in the state of Texas, and up to as much as $500.00 in other states. Do your part to help keep our first responders safe and move over or slow down.

Lubbock Car Accident Attorneys

There is no excuse for negligent driving. If you have been involved in a car accident due to the negligence of another driver, you deserve compensation for your injuries. Contact the Lubbock auto accident lawyers at Liggett Law Group today to learn how to protect your legal rights.