I was injured in a car accident and the other driver doesn’t have insurance. What do I do?
A car accident can be a traumatic event for those involved. Being injured by a negligent driver who doesn’t have insurance only multiplies the pain and frustration of the experience. With the right legal representation, victims of uninsured motorists still have the opportunity to collect the compensation they are entitled to for their injuries and damages.
If you or a loved one was injured in an accident with a Texas driver who didn’t have insurance, contact Liggett Law Group, a car accident law firm in Lubbock, Texas.
Texas’ Insurance Requirements
In the state of Texas, all drivers are required to carry the minimum amount of liability insurance. Currently, the law-required coverage includes a minimum of $30,000 for each injured person, with a total of $60,000 per accident, as well as $25,000 for property damage per accident.
If drivers are caught operating a vehicle without this minimum coverage, they may face criminal penalties, including fines of up to $350 for the first offense, and up to $1,000 in fines and a 2-year license suspension for repeat offenses. Unfortunately, this doesn’t stop many uninsured drivers from getting behind the wheel.
An additional problem for accident victims is that, even when drivers carry the minimum coverage, it doesn’t always cover all damages. Even minor accidents can result in serious injuries and expensive repairs. Medical bills and property damage can quickly surpass the coverage provided by the minimum liability insurance.
Options for Accident Victims
When you are in an accident, it is typically the at-fault driver’s insurance company that will ultimately be responsible for paying your medical bills and damages. If the other driver didn’t have insurance or didn’t have sufficient coverage, you still have options that don’t involve paying out-of-pocket for those expenses.
If you carry Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage through your own insurance provider, it can pay your expenses in just such an event. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage will pay your medical expenses as well. However, these are both optional plans that not all drivers choose to carry.
In some cases, even if you carry U/UM or PIP coverage, your insurance company may attempt to deny the claim. An auto accident lawyer who is experienced in uninsured/underinsured motorists claims can help you fight back against your insurance company to ensure that you get the compensation you’re entitled to.
Filing a Car Accident Lawsuit
Another option for recovering compensation after an accident is through a personal injury lawsuit against the negligent party. If this becomes necessary, our experienced Lubbock car accident law firm can help you navigate the process of filing a lawsuit and proving the other driver’s negligence.
When you are injured in an accident, the best way to protect your rights is to contact the skilled litigators at Liggett Law Group. For more than 25 years, we have helped car accident victims in Lubbock, Hobbs, Artesia, Plainview, Clovis, Carlsbad, Roswell, Brownfield, Seminole, and another West Texas and Eastern New Mexico communities. Contact us today at (855) 955-HURT (4878) to get the integrity, advocacy and results you deserve.